440 Advanced Portfolio

Art 440 Advanced Portfolio Development

MW 12-1 (lab hours start at 10 am)

Download the syllabus art440-portfolio-2017

Your to-do list for the semester.

  • Resume, cover letter template
  • Business cards
  • PDF portfolio
  • website
  • Behance site
  • self promo package; leave behind/portfolio book
  • senior exhibit work and presentation

Week 1: Introduction

Wednesday (Monday), January 18

Introduction: Syllabus, Projects review; Addy award submissions; surface pattern submissions


Week 2: Marketing yourself, Part I

Monday, January 23

Do career self-analysis. Due by next class via email.

Resume; create, design or redesign existing. if you have an existing one, email it to me for review

Wednesday, January 25

Resume

Analyze your  personal branding you and decide if it needs revising or you need new. We will review existing ID systems and redesign or revamp an ID design  for resume, PDF portfolio, website, etc.

Next class: Email me any logos, branding you have for yourself. We will review existing ID systems and redesign or revamp an ID design  for resume, PDF portfolio, website, etc.


Week 3: Marketing yourself, Part I

Monday, January 30

Resume and cover letter; start work on ID system. If you have one, will it work well across all media?

Wednesday, February 1

Cover letter. Select an existing job advertisement that interests you. Write a cover letter directed to that job. Keep it as a template to write future letters. Draft due Monday via email with draft of resume.


Week 4: Marketing yourself

Monday, February 6

Resume and cover letter draft due. Progress crit on ID. Continue to work on ID system. Gather 15-20 images you want to include in your PDF portfolio (If you have one, send it to me for review)

Wednesday, February 8

Resume and cover letter returned. Design both.

PDF portfolio lesson. InDesign review of hyperlinks. Example: Medley PDF portfolio


Week 5: Portfolio development

Monday, February 13

Lesson:  Final Resume and cover letter due. ID system check. Work on PDF portfolio.

Wednesday, February 15

pdf portfolio


Week 6: Portfolio Development

Monday, February 20

email progress of PDF portfolio (checking style, format)

Wednesday, February 22

work day; gallery meeting at 3

Week 7: Web portfolio

Monday, February 27

Lesson: progress crit of PDF portfolio; senior reviews

Wednesday, March 1

sophomore portfolio reviews; no class

Week 8: PDF portfolio

Monday, March 6

 Lesson: Web presence: Behance and other web based portfolios options

order prints and frames for show

Resource links:

Inexpensive custom frame: pictureframes.com

Wednesday, March 8

work on web site portfolio


Week 9: Spring Break March 11-19


Week 10:

Monday, March 20

web portfolio crit

Wednesday, March 22

lab


Week 11: Getting ready for the big show

Monday, March 27

web/exhibit

Wednesday, March 29

web/exhibit


Week 12:

Monday, April 3

work due to gallery; work on exhibit and web site

Wednesday, April 5

hang exhibit (Friday morning too)

Saturday April 8, Senior Exhibit opening


Week 13:

Monday, April 10

take a breather day

Wednesday, April 12

Portfolio review day-set date
3D printing project
Bound portfolio book discussion: Blurb, LuLu, Shutterfly, iPhoto books;

ongoing projects: website, self promo, flat portfolio and book


Week 14:

Monday, April 17

Easter break

Wednesday, April 19

web, self promo and book


Week 15:

Monday, April 24
Noon: guest speaker: Kristen Shemanski, Gertrude Hawk.

Wednesday, April 26

Noon: guest speaker: Kathryn Bondi, Posture Interactive


Week 16: Last Week of Class

Monday, May 1
take hallway show down; pick out 3 pieces for First Friday exhibit.

Noon: guest speaker: Bryan Filarsky, bryanfilarsky.com

Wednesday, May 3

professional portfolio reviews start at 10 am.

How to Follow up after an interview: http://mashable.com/2014/04/05/effective-follow-up/?utm_cid=mash-com-fb-main-link

send thank you cards to reviewers

Friday May 5th-First Friday at The Workshop will feature your senior work or anything you’d like to show. 3 pieces per student.