Art 416 Advanced Graphic Design

ART416 Syllabus 2016

Tuesday/Thursday 9-noon

Download this print production App for your phone: http://www.printapplyapp.com/


Week 1: Introduction

Thursday, August 25

Introduction: Syllabus, Projects overview. Introduction of first assignment, billboard. Meet with client.

Hey Whipple book

Reading Assignment: Chapters 1-6, “Hey Whipple…” Luke Sullivan text.

Charmin Ad Videos:


Week 2: Advertising

Tuesday, August 30:

Lecture: Share billboard photos.
Discussion questions from reading given.

Thursday, Sept. 1

Art & Copy movie. Work on billboard.

Week 3: Advertising

Tuesday, September 6

Discussion questions from reading due at beginning of class.
Work on Billboards.

Thursday, September 8

Finish Billboards progress critique


Week 4: Advertising/Posters

Tuesday September 13

Lesson 2:  Get out and vote posters

Thursday, September 15

social protest posters lecture Bob Schweitzer 10 a.m. Maslow Gallery


Week 5: Posters

Tuesday, September 20

client critique

Thursday, September 22

Get Out and vote poster crit at 9 a.m.


Week 6:

Tuesday, September 27

partisan posters part 2

Thursday, September 29

posters

 


Week 7: Ad campaign

Tuesday, October 4

Crit of partisan posters

Project 3: Introduction of Copyright Ad Campaign assignment. Client brief. Keywords. Team assignments.

Begin research. http://allthingscopyright.com/

Copyright Info


Thursday, October 6

ad campaign

ad campaign; Client brief due; 20 key words and tagline due. Review Thumbnails and roughs.


Week 7: Ad campaign

Tuesday, October 11

hang posters?

Thursday, October 13

hang posters?


Week 8: Ad campaign

Tuesday, October 18

Fall Break, no class

Thursday, October 20

Crit for ad campaign

Assignment 4: Surtex pattern competition


Week 9: Stamp

Tuesday, October 25

Patterns

Thursday, October 27

Patterns

Portfolio tips for Senior Review


Week 10:

Tuesday, November 1

pattern

Thursday, November 3

patterns; revise designs to finalize for printing and mounting


Week 11:

Tuesday, November 8

patterns review

Thursday, November 10

patterns


Week 12: 

Tuesday, November 15

pattern crit

finals will be mounted first class next semester

Assignment 5: commemorative stamps

Thursday, November 17

stamps


Week 13: Thanksgiving week

Tuesday, November 23

stamps

November 24 Thanksgiving break. No class.


Week 14:

Tuesday, November 29

stamps

Thursday, December 1

finish, stamps Crit
final project: quick panel book

 


Week 15: Last week

Tuesday Dec. 6,

book

Thursday Dec. 8
Final exam day. Turn in book