Art 416 Advanced Graphic Design

ART416 Syllabus 2018

Monday/Wednesday Noon-3 pm


Week 1: Introduction/Advertising

Monday, August 27

Introduction: Syllabus, Projects overview. Introduction of first assignment, billboard. Explanation of Spark Learning Journal.

Hey Whipple book

Reading Assignment: Chapters 1-6, “Hey Whipple…” Luke Sullivan text.

Charmin Ad Videos:

Wednesday, August 29:

Lecture: Share billboard photos.
Discussion questions from reading given.

 Art & Copy movie.


Week 2: Advertising

Monday, Sept. 3 Labor Day, no class

Wednesday, Sept. 5:
Opening liturgy/picnic.

Billboard inspiration: https://www.canva.com/learn/billboard-advertising/

Adweek: https://www.adweek.com/creativity/billboard-campaign-just-wants-you-smile-more-can-it-possibly-work-170320/

Work on billboard.


Week 3: Advertising

Monday, Sept. 10
Work on Billboards. Review of ideas. Discussion questions from reading due at end of class.

Wednesday, Sept. 12:
Finish Billboards;
Project 2: Transportation ad campaign; Client brief; 20 key words and tagline.


Week 4: Advertising

Monday, September 17

Lesson 2: Critique billboards:
Project 2
ad campaign; Client brief due; 20 key words and tagline due beginning of next class.

Wednesday, September 19

papermaking break

Work on ad campaign; Review Thumbnails and roughs.

Reading Assignment: Chapters 7-9, “Hey Whipple…”


Week 5: Ad campaign

Monday, September 24

Finish ad campaign; Start Project 3 Positive message campaign

Wednesday, September 24

Ad campaign crit.
Project 3: Positive messages campaign


Week 6: Projects 2 and 3

Monday, October 1

positive messages

Wednesday, October 3

project 3


Week 7: Project 3 & 4

Monday,  October 8

project 3 idea review

Wednesday, October 10

project 3 crit

On hold if cafeteria falls through:  Introduction of Copyright Ad Campaign assignment. Client brief. Keywords. Team assignments. Copyright Info 

Begin research. http://allthingscopyright.com/


Week 7: Project 4

Monday, October 15

Fall break, no class

Wednesday, October 17

Project 4


Week 8: Project 4

Monday, October 22

Project 4:

Wednesday, October 24

 


Week 9:stamp

Monday, October 29

Wednesday,October 31

 


Week 10:stamps

Monday, November 5

crit. Project 5 commemorative stamp series

Wednesday, November 7

stamps


Week 11: stamps

Monday, November 12

individual progress review of stamps

Wednesday, November 14

stamps


Week 12: 

Monday, November 19

stamps crit

Wednesday, November 21

Thanksgiving break. No class.


Week 13:

Monday, November 26

handbound portfolio book

Wednesday, November 29
handbound portfolio book


Week 14:

Monday, December 3

handbound portfolio book

Wednesday, December 5

handbound portfolio book

Week 15:

Monday December 10 Last day of class