Art 442B Interactive Design III

442B Syllabus 2016

T/TH 6-9 pm • Mac lab 136


Week 1 –
Tuesday, August 29:

Introduction: Syllabus, Projects overview. Introduction of first assignment, Mailchimp.

Thursday, August 31:

Project check; 1:45 p.m. crit for e-blast newsletter; Introduction of Project 2: App project


Week 2 –

Tuesday, August 29:

Thursday, August 31:

Project 2: Lecture: UX design, problem proposal and persona

If you have a Mac, iPhone or iPad, I highly recommend downloading this free book on app design from the iTunes store.

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/ios-human-interface-guidelines/id877942287?mt=11


Week 3

Monday, September 5, Labor Day, no class

Wednesday, September 7: Picnic. Class starts at 1:15. Review ideas and personas. Cards sorting and site map if time.

intro to UX design

 


Week 4

Monday, September 12:

Project 2 card sorting; XD

Improving Your Information Architecture With Card Sorting: A Beginner’s Guide

 

http://graphicssoft.about.com/od/softwaretutorials/ss/An-Adobe-Experience-Design-Quick-Start.htm


Week 5-

Monday, September 19:
app progress check

Wednesday, September 21

App


Week 6-

Monday, September 26:

app

Wednesday, September 28:

 


Week 7-

Monday, October 3:

App crit;

Project 3: iPad interactive magazine.

Wednesday, October 5:

lab; no instructor

Watch this example of an interactive magazine article for inspiration: https://indd.adobe.com/view/e7718b9a-4518-4bda-9efe-9df4d60cb3b3


Week 7

Monday, October 10

InDesign demo; Video editing in Photoshop; sound editing

demo on publishing; Progress check on magazine

Wednesday, October 12:

upload magazine to test

Publishing: https://helpx.adobe.com/indesign/how-to/self-publishing-online.html?set=indesign–whats-new


Week 8

Monday, October 17: fall break

Wednesday, October 19:

load magazine to iPad; magazine crit;


Week 9

Monday, October 24:

Introduction of Adobe Animate Animate; Project 4: Animated infographic

http://www.tourdeanimate.com/

Wednesday, October 26:

Animate


Week 10

Monday, October 31:

Interactive mag crit

Senior review information

Project 4: Animate CC and information graphics

Wednesday, November 2:

Project 4: Animate CC and information graphics


Week 11

Monday, November 7:

animated infographics

http://www.mariaclaudiacortes.com/#

Wednesday, November 9:

animation

no instructor


Week 12

Monday, November 14:

animation

Wednesday, November 16: Senior Reviews


Week 13–

Monday, November 21

animation crit

crit;

Wednesday, November 23 Thanksgiving break


Week 14

Monday, November 28:

Project 5: Muse

Muse Store Front/Small Biz Web site

  • for yourself or a friend that has original products, whether made up by you or actual items you make
  • at least 8 items with a legitimate ability to purchase (paypal, shopping cart, Shopify, etc.). It doesn’t have to function but it would be something that could be set up later.
  • SEO optimized: write meaningful copy, change page titles, use webfonts, alt text images, description and keywords
  • output both to HTML for final submission

Resource links:

Best screen size? http://www.hobo-web.co.uk/best-screen-size/

Free Muse tutorials on Adobe TV: https://helpx.adobe.com/muse/how-to/set-up-a-site.html

Muse tutorials: http://muse.adobe.com/tutorials.html

Wednesday, November 30:

Muse website


Week 15:

Monday, December 5.

Muse

Wednesday, December 7. Last day of class.

Muse crit or following Monday?