Art 442B Interactive Design III

https://helpx.adobe.com/indesign/using/movies-sounds.html

442B Syllabus Fall 2017

T/TH 6-9 pm • Mac lab 136


Week 1 –
Tuesday, August 29:

Introduction: Syllabus, Projects overview. Introduction of first assignment, Assignment 1: Mailchimp—arts e-newsletter.

Thursday, August 31:

Project check; 7:45 p.m. crit for e-blast newsletter; Introduction of Assignment 2: App development; Adobe XD


Week 2 –

Tuesday, September 5:

Project 2: Lecture: UX design, problem proposal and personas (2-3)

 

 

 

 

 

Persona exercises are hidden in everyday life:

 

 

 

https://imgur.com/gallery/PttpU

What is a user story? http://www.romanpichler.com/blog/10-tips-writing-good-user-stories/

Create a user story or 2 for each persona you create

Thursday, September 7: GUEST SPEAKER from Otreva

Review ideas and personas. Start site map.


Week 3 – 

Tuesday, September 12:

Card sorting and Style tiles

Improving Your Information Architecture With Card Sorting: A Beginner’s Guide

 

Thursday, September 14: QUIZ #1

Begin plotting app screens in Adobe Experience Design (Xd)

UI discussion – resources on shared drive

UI elements in app building: https://www.webdesignerdepot.com/2015/02/the-best-free-ui-kits-february-2015/

http://graphicssoft.about.com/od/softwaretutorials/ss/An-Adobe-Experience-Design-Quick-Start.htm



Week 4

Tuesday, September 19: LAB – no instructor – continue working on app project

Thursday, September 21:

App work session/progress check


Week 5-

Tuesday, September 26:

App work session

Thursday, September 28


Week 6-

Tuesday, October 3:

App project crit

Project 3: iPad interactive magazine.

https://helpx.adobe.com/indesign/using/dynamic-pdf-documents.html

Watch this example of an interactive magazine article for inspiration: https://indd.adobe.com/view/e7718b9a-4518-4bda-9efe-9df4d60cb3b3

Thursday, October 5:

Review magazine outline/topic – Magazine lab

InDesign demo


Week 7-

Tuesday, October 10:

Video editing, sound editing

https://helpx.adobe.com/indesign/using/movies-sounds.html

Thursday, October 12:

demo on publishing; Progress check on magazine

Publishing: https://helpx.adobe.com/indesign/how-to/self-publishing-online.html?set=indesign–whats-new

Upload magazine to test


Week 8

Tuesday, October 17: Fall break

Thursday, October 19:

Load magazine to iPad; magazine crit;

Introduction of Adobe Animate Animate; Assignment 4: Animate

http://www.tourdeanimate.com/


Week 9

Tuesday, October 24:

Animated infographics

http://www.mariaclaudiacortes.com/#

Thursday, October 26:

Animation


Week 10

Tuesday, October 31:

Animation/progress check

Adobe AfterEffects tutorial for video editing/effects

Thursday, November 2:

Animation


Week 11

Tuesday, November 7:

Animation Crit

Intro to Assignment 5a: Wireframes/Assignment 5b: Muse website

Muse Store Front/Small Biz Web site

  • for yourself or a friend that has original products, whether made up by you or actual items you make
  • at least 8 items with a legitimate ability to purchase (paypal, shopping cart, Shopify, etc.). It doesn’t have to function but it would be something that could be set up later.
  • SEO optimized: write meaningful copy, change page titles, use webfonts, alt text images, description and keywords
  • output both to HTML for final submission

Lecture on wireframing advantages, UI elements, and designing for “mobile first”

 

Thursday, November 9:

Ecommerce wireframes – sketches on paper

 

 


Week 12

Tuesday, November 14:

Ecommerce wireframes transposed into XD

Thursday, November 16:

Quick crit –  XD wireframes

Begin 5b: Discuss applying wireframes to Muse website design, Muse walkthrough

Resource links:

Best screen size? http://www.hobo-web.co.uk/best-screen-size/

Free Muse tutorials on Adobe TV: https://helpx.adobe.com/muse/how-to/set-up-a-site.html

Muse tutorials: http://muse.adobe.com/tutorials.html


Week 13

Tuesday, November 21:

Muse website design

Thursday, November 23: Thanksgiving break


Week 14 

Tuesday, November 28: potential GUEST SPEAKERS

Muse website

Guest speakers in the web development/design industry! (Posture Interactive)

Thursday, November 30: QUIZ #2

Muse website, progress check


Week 15

Tuesday, December 5:

Muse website

Thursday, December 7: early dismissal

Last day of class – Muse website lab


Finals Week:

Tuesday, December 12(tentatively):

Muse critique/Final