Art 448 Package Design

Project 1: Chewing gum

Project 2: Candy

Project 3: Health and Beauty (green design)

Project 4: Wine label bottle

Project 5: Shopping Bag

Project 6: Self promo

Week 1:

Tuesday, August 27

Introduction, Syllabus, Course Outline, Pop-up exercise

Thursday, August 29

First assignment: chewing gum package

Week 2:

Tuesday, September 3

Comps due for review;

Thursday, September 5

Gum package; lab

Week 3

Tuesday, September 10

Gum package crit; Intro of candy package project

Thursday, September 12

candy project

Week 4

Tuesday, September 17

candy box

Thursday, September 19

candy box mini crit

Week 5

Tuesday, September 24

candy box series

Thursday, September 26

Week 6

Tuesday, October 1

candy box crit; intro of health and beauty project

Thursday, October 3

Visiting artist lecture: 3:30

Week 7

Tuesday, October 8

health and beauty package

Thursday, October 11

health and beauty package

Week 8

Tuesday, October 15 (Fall Break, no class)

Thursday, October 17

due critique; wine bottle; research trip on your own

Week 9:

Tuesday, October 22

Thursday, October 24

Week 10:

Tuesday, October 29

 

Thursday, October 31

Week 11:

Tuesday, November 5

 

Thursday, November 7

Week 12:

Tuesday, November 12

 

Thursday, November 14

wine

Week 13:

Tuesday, November 19

wine due; shopping bag intro

Thursday, November 21

Thanksgiving

Tuesday, November 26

shopping bag

Thursday, November 28

Thanksgiving no class

Tuesday, December 3

work on self promo

Thursday, December 5

Tuesday, December 10

Thursday, December 12

Last class

Recommended Text:

Packaging Sustainability by Wendy Jedlicka

Reference Links:

http://www.superficialgallery.com/Emails/Amazing-Pictures/cool-packaging.htm

http://www.louisefili.com/

http://www.packagedesignmag.com/

http://www.thedieline.com/

http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2008/06/02/beautiful-and-expressive-packaging-design/

http://www.packagedesign.com/

http://www.jedlicka.com/

http://www.structuralgraphics.com/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s